Dover-Foxcroft Maine represents small-town living at its finest. It is a community which boasts recreational opportunities for all seasons. On the sandy shores of the deep waters of Sebec Lake, which the town partially surrounds, lies Peaks-Kenny State Park. This beautiful natural setting offers swimming, boating, fishing, or picnicking. Lakeside campsites offer quiet and privacy in a peaceful, wooded setting, appealing to wildlife watchers. Within a mornings drive, are other outdoor opportunities with Moosehead Lake, the Appalachian Trail, Baxter State Park, and other outdoor destinations. There are many hiking and snowmobile trails in the region. Many landmarks including grand homes are evidence of the towns rich history. Dover-Foxcroft has many year-round restaurants, and boasts an old-fashioned movie house; the only one in the Moosehead Lake region which provides live entertainment, as well as a regular movie schedule.
Dover-Foxcroft was originally two towns. Dover was purchased from Massachusetts by Boston merchants Charles Vaughan and John Merrick. It was first settled in 1799, and incorporated in 1821. Agriculture was the early occupation, producing potatoes, corn, and grain.
Foxcroft began as a grant to Bowdoin College in 1794 by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Joseph Foxcroft purchased it in 1801. It also was incorporated in 1821. In 1922, the two towns merged into one.