Fryeburg is rich in history and recreational opportunities. This oldest town in the region boasts eleven buildings listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Three of its twelve parks are historic sites. Many parks offer swimming, walking trails, tennis or fishing. Other activities offered visitors are canoeing on the Saco River or Lovewells Pond, camping, or hiking on a variety of trails. Fryeburg residents invite you to visit their unique town.
Fryeburg is also the site of the renowned October agricultural fair, born in 1851 when a few farmers decided to get together and show off their wares. Since then, it has flourished into an 8-day Blue Ribbon Classic, complete with harness racing, a farm museum, steer and oxen show and much more, attracting more than 300,000 people annually.
- Fryeburg, the earliest town in the White Mountain region, is one of western Maines nicest communities. It is named for General Joseph Frye, who distinguished himself in the French and Indian War. Based on his military service to the Colonies, the township was granted to him by the Massachusetts General Court in 1762.
- Fryeburgs first permanent settlement was in 1763 by Nathaniel Smith and his family. Its many pioneers were veterans of the French and Indian War. Fryeburg developed into a prosperous agricultural center, due to its excellent soil. The first gristmill was established in 1766. Other mills followed, producing lumber, leather, tinware, etc.
- After the Civil War, the Portland Railroad passed through the town, bringing tourists. In 1777, Fryeburg was incorporated. Fryeburg is home to the renowned Fryeburg Academy, an independent secondary school, built in 1791, serving a diverse population of students from across the nation and around the world. Now, in its 220th year, this fine academic institution, set in this classic New England village, in the foothills of the White Mountains, continues to be a source of pride for this community.