Machias, meaning “bad little falls”, was so named by the Passamaquoddy Indians, because of it’s furiously - running falls. It is located in downeast Maine on the Machias River.
The first history of Machias dates back to 1633, when an Englishman named Richard Vines established a trading - post there. In 1763, a large number of people, mostly from Scarborough, came to settle in Machias, and erected many saw – mills. They later petitioned for a grant for settlement, which was allowed in 1770. In 1775, the Machias settlers initiated the first naval battle of the American Revolution, capturing the armed schooner, HMS Margaretta, the first British vessel captured by the Americans. (The Margaretta Days Festival is celebrated each June.) For this heroism, they were given a formal vote of thanks by the Massachusetts Congress, and received the name of “Lexington of the Seas”. The first organized church in Machias and Washington County was Congregationalist, and dates back to September, 1782.
Machias was incorporated as a town in 1784. Logging, shipbuilding, and fishing were the beginning industries in Machias. The town contains many fine historic buildings, including the restored old Machias Station 98, as well as many ship captains’ homes, marking it’s age and rich culture. Deer and moose are often seen around lakes and rivers. Tours for viewing Puffins are available. Hiking, boating, and kayaking are also popular.
Machias is known as the “Blueberry Capital of the World”. Ninety-five percent of the world’s blueberry crop is harvested in Machias each August,
celebrated by the famous “Maine Wild Blueberry Festival”, with food, crafts, and entertainment for all the family. There are many opportunities for visitors to explore Machias, and they will always be welcomed by the entire community.